- Paying the bills -

Mexico Will Not Intervene in Nicaragua Crisis

The next government of Mexico, led by leftist President-elect Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador, will not intervene in the internal affairs of other nations, such as crisis-ridden Venezuela and Nicaragua, the country’s future foreign minister said on Monday.


Mexico’s current administration has taken a lead in regional efforts to pressure socialist Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro into restoring democracy in his country and has worked closely alongside the United States to stem north-bound Central American migration.

- payin the bills -

However, incoming Foreign Minister Marcelo Ebrard said in a radio interview on Monday that Mexico would now adopt a hands-off policy toward other nations.

Ebrard added that the non-intervention policy would extend to Nicaragua, which has seen clashes between the government and protesters that have left hundreds of people dead.

President-elect Lopez, winning in a landslide in the July 1 vote, who is due to take office on December 1, said, “Mexico will follow a respectful foreign policy of non-intervention…and right now, we don’t expect to abandon that policy.”

“That does not mean that we’re not concerned about the situation in one country or another, in this case, Venezuela. We’re going to look into it and see how we can design, or help contribute, in the best way,” he added.

- paying the bills -

U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo will be in Mexico on Friday and will meet with Lopez, Ebrard said, in a bid to build a working relationship that has become strained by U.S. President Donald Trump’s calls to build a border wall between the two countries and threats to rip up the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA).

“The treatment we’ve received by the U.S. government has been terrible,” Ebrard said. “But we need to find whatever areas of understanding there might be.”

In May, the Lima group of Latin American countries plus Canada issued a statement saying it did not recognize the legitimacy of Venezuela’s presidential election, which was held the day before amid criticism over alleged irregularities.

The Lima Group includes Peru, Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Lucia, Canada, Colombia, Honduras, Costa Rica and Guatemala.

Source: Reuters.
Reporting by Diego Ore; Writing by Gabriel Stargardter; Editing by Alistair Bell

Related Articles

Daniel Ortega bests his record of absences in office: 30 days

Daniel Ortega has broken his own record of absences in office....

US Embassy prohibits its officials and temporary visitors from leaving Managua for 72 hours

The United StatesEmbassy in Managua issued on Thursday, March 5, an...


- paying the bills -

Let's Keep This Going!

To be updated with all the latest news and information about Nicaragua and Latin America.

Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.